Making Ubuntu look like Windows XP !

Yes. This is a deadly combo πŸ™‚

I am so used to Windows XP (and in love with it too) for all good reasons that I wanted my Ubuntu installation also look like XP. I started using Ubuntu in 2007 and I loved it too. But the one thing I hated was their usage of fonts! Everything was so huge and lacked the usability of Win XP.

The only thing we really need to do to make Ubuntu (I’m using Ubuntu 9.04) is to change the system font to Tahoma.

Step 1: Install core Microsoft truetype fonts

sudo apt-get install msttcorefonts

But this default set of core fonts does not have Tahoma ! So we need to get an archive of the normal and bold versions of the font.You can download it from http://www.stchman.com/tools/MS_fonts/tahoma.zip. And unzip it to your local directory.

Step 2: Install Tahoma

 sudo cp /home/username/mydir/*.ttf /usr/share/fonts/truetype/msttcorefonts
sudo fc-cache -f -v
 

fc-cache will rebuild the font cache in the machine to get the new changes reflected.

Step 3: Change the font settings
Go to Ubuntu desktop, right click and select “Change Desktop Background” > “Fonts”. Change the font type to Tahoma 8. And that’s it πŸ™‚

