Book review – JBoss AS 5 Development

1847196829 
JBoss AS 5 Development
Written by Francesco Marchioni 
Published by Packt Publishing

When I started reading this book my expectations were a little less as I was expecting a “1 + 1 = 2” kinda stuff! But after reading the very first chapter – Installing core components – I realized that this one is going to be different. The story in this book is very simple which even my 11 year old nephew can understand and enjoy. Yes, it’s indeed a story.

The first three chapters tells us what JBoss is, from where to get it, how to install it, how to configure Eclipse & JBoss tools, the JBoss sub-systems, basic deployment configurations, the background story and a lot of things. It’s very detailed, simple. I had real fun reading it. Because we assume a lot of things which we think is right. These three chapters proved me wrong at many places.

The following chapters deal more with EJB 3, JMS, JPA, Web Services, JBoss management, JBoss clustering & security. These chapters try to cover the basics as much as it can. It will be really helpful as the first step towards J2EE/JBoss.

Okay, now it’s time for the final verdict.

This book – with 400+ pages & 14 chapters – is very well written. This is for the common man. This book tells the whole story in the simplest possible way. This book tells us what all things we need to do to master JBoss. It may not help you in mastering JBoss, but can definitely show you a way with all possible sign boards, maps & guides.

I really enjoyed reading this book. I am not an expert in JBoss, EJBs JPA or JTA, but a “modestly aware” coder. Yeah, this will be a first good step towards mastering the art :)

What I liked about this book
It’s very simple & well-organized.

What I did not like about this book
Lacks depth. I think the target audience is beginners & enthusiasts.

So, do I recommend this?
Yes. I do. It’s going to be an easy & good read.

Check this link for more details.

Useful links
http://www.jboss.org/ – JBoss Home
http://www.jboss.org/jbossas/downloads/ – JBoss downloads
http://www.eclipse.org/ – Eclipse IDE Home
http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/ – Eclipse downloads

